top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReading About Love

Lilac by BB Reid

Updated: Apr 16, 2021


๐‹๐ข๐ฅ๐š๐œ

by B.B. Reid


๐“๐ซ๐จ๐ฉ๐ž๐ฌ: Reverse Harem, Enemies To Lovers, Rockstar Romance

๐‘๐š๐ญ๐ข๐ง๐ : โญ๏ธโญ๏ธโญ๏ธ

๐€๐ฏ๐š๐ข๐ฅ๐š๐›๐ฅ๐ž ๐ข๐ง ๐Š๐”: Yes



๐Œ๐จ๐ซ๐ž ๐…๐ซ๐จ๐ฆ ๐“๐ก๐ข๐ฌ ๐€๐ฎ๐ญ๐ก๐จ๐ซ:




This review may be a bit of a spoiler so read at your own discretion.


Where do I start with this book? My mind is still reeling after finishing this behemoth of a book. I went into it with high expectations and it was just a bit all over the place. I enjoyed it but there was just so much going on that I couldnโ€™t help but get frustrated and confused while reading.


This book starts off slow and there is some character building in the beginning that I really enjoyed watching happen. The first introduction to the characters had me so pumped to read this book. But then it went on towards the middle and I still hadnโ€™t seen enough relationship building between the main characters to enjoy them as a couple. I got to see characteristics from each one through their POVโ€™s but I didnโ€™t get enough of them together, that wasnโ€™t sex, to actually enjoy them together. Now if you like all the steam this book definitely brings that!


This book is a Reverse Harem book. But if you are an avid RH reader, know that this is a bit different than your everyday RH books. It isnโ€™t immediately known or accepted that the heroine will be with all three heroes and there is some back and forth before they actually decide to share the heroine. Iโ€™m not used to reading reverse harems like this and I feel like it contributed to my disappointment in the end because the characters were so hot and cold throughout a big chunk of the middle of the book.


Throughout the book thereโ€™s a lot of things that arenโ€™t alluded to as mysteries that end up being uncovered in the end. Which is great but because they kept being mentioned without any inclination of an explanation they became tedious and a tad bit irritating to see mentioned so much. An example of this would be Braxton constantly referring to โ€œtasting cherries.โ€ It got so repetitive at times that I couldnโ€™t stop thinking about it and it wasnโ€™t explained or ever talked about until the ending of the book.


It felt like the ending was packed with everything leaving the beginning and middle full of filler information that seemed a bit unnecessary because it didnโ€™t add to the plot of the story. And when I tell you I felt a bit of whiplash towards the ending I seriously had to put the book down because of the information dump towards the last 25% of the book. There was just so much going on and things that I had questions about throughout most of the book that still had yet to be resolved while other major things were being introduced for the first time. I was just overwhelmed and it took away from my overall enjoyment of the book.


I went into this thinking that it would become a favorite book of mine because I loved the idea of it but Iโ€™m just a bit disappointed in the execution of it. I think I also had high hopes because Iโ€™ve really enjoyed other books by this author. I canโ€™t say I didnโ€™t like the characters individually because I would be lying. I liked being inside their heads and I still think about them days later, I was just overwhelmed by the story as a whole.





8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page